Skip to main content
Education only. ClearMoneySchool does not provide individualized investment, tax, or legal advice. Why we don't give advice →
S&P 5007743.41+0.51%NASDAQ 10030,608+0.42%DOW51,829+0.93%RUSSELL 20002837.55+0.07%VIX14.87-5.11%GOLD$4320.50+0.52%SILVER$64.71+1.11%BITCOIN$83,922-0.39%
Live · 60s
8 indices tracked · Quotes may be delayed up to 15 minutes · As of 11:18 PM ET

A Warehouse Club Sells Groceries at Almost No Markup. The Money Is the Door Charge.

A warehouse club reported its year this week, and two numbers in the same filing explain the business. Membership fees were under 2 percent of revenue and equaled about 62 percent of net income. Merchandise cost the company about 89 cents of every dollar it charged for goods, which is why the prices inside can sit so close to cost.

· Listen

Download MP3
0:000:00

The simple version

Most stores make money the obvious way. They buy something for one price, sell it for a higher one, and keep the difference.

A warehouse club barely does that. Its latest filing shows merchandise costing about 89 cents of every dollar it took in on goods. The profit gets collected at the door instead, once a year, from everyone who wants in.

The numbers

  • Membership fees were $1,850 million for the 16 weeks ended August 30, 2026, up from $1,724 million a year earlier (Costco Wholesale Corporation, fourth quarter and fiscal year 2026 results, September 24, 2026)
  • Total revenue was $95,723 million, which the filing reports as net sales of $93,873 million plus those membership fees (same release)
  • Net income was $2,998 million, or $6.75 per diluted share (same release)
  • Merchandise costs were $83,531 million, about 89% of net sales, and selling, general and administrative expenses were $8,391 million (same release)
  • Operating income was $3,801 million, and the statement reconciles exactly: net sales plus membership fees, less merchandise costs and those expenses (same release; the arithmetic is ours)
  • The quarter's net income included a non-recurring benefit of $0.15 per diluted share, so it is not a clean run rate (same release)
  • The release does not state a membership renewal rate or a paid cardholder count (stated limitation)

A small slice of revenue, a large slice of profit

Membership fees are a rounding error against revenue. At $1,850 million of $95,723 million they are about 1.9% of what came in, which sounds like a side business.

Set them against profit and the proportion inverts. They equal about 49% of the quarter's operating income and about 62% of its net income.

Those are ratios between reported figures, not a claim that most of the profit comes from fees. The filing does not break out what servicing a membership costs, so the comparison is the honest statement and a margin would not be.

Low prices are the product, not a sacrifice

The merchandise line shows why the shelves can be cheap. Goods cost about 89 cents of every dollar charged for them, leaving roughly 11 cents before any of the cost of actually running stores.

Selling, general and administrative expenses were $8,391 million against $93,873 million of net sales, which consumes most of that remaining slice. On the goods alone, the margin is thin by construction.

So thin markups are not a concession. If the fee is where the profit sits, cheap shelves are the thing being sold, and a member who feels they got a deal is the asset being maintained.

The number this release does not give you

For a business built on an annual fee, the most informative figure is not sales. It is the share of members who pay again.

This release does not state one. That is worth naming rather than working around, because the metric that would say most about whether the arrangement still works from the member's side is absent from the document.

It is also a separate question from growth in total members. Those two move independently, and a business can hold a high renewal rate while adding members more slowly than it used to.

The Real Cost lens on whether a fee pays for itself

This is arithmetic anyone can run on their own numbers, and it takes one division. The fee and the discount below are both figures we chose, because we have no sourced measure of how much cheaper any store is than any other.

  • Take an annual fee of $65, and assume prices average 10% below what you would otherwise pay.
  • $65 divided by 0.10 is $650, so the fee breaks even at $650 of annual spending at that discount.
  • If the real discount is closer to 5%, $65 divided by 0.05 is $1,300 of annual spending to break even.
  • Below the break-even number the fee costs more than the savings return. Above it, the reverse.

Neither figure is a measurement. The fee is not any company's current price, and the discount is not a claim about any retailer. The useful version of this uses your own fee and your own honest estimate of the discount on the things you actually buy, which is usually a narrower list than people assume.

What this means

When a company charges for the right to be a customer, the fee is not an add-on to the business. This filing shows it sitting at under 2% of revenue while equaling most of net income.

That explains both halves of the experience. It is why the prices are low, and it is why the company has more at stake in whether you come back than in what it made on any single item in your cart.

What this is NOT

This article does not tell anyone whether to buy or keep a membership anywhere. The break-even arithmetic is a method for a reader to run on their own figures, not a conclusion reached for them, and this article reaches none. It takes no position on Costco Wholesale Corporation or any security and is not a recommendation to buy, sell, hold, or avoid anything. The annual fee and the discount percentage in the Real Cost section are figures we chose as an illustration: the fee is not any company's current price, we have no sourced measurement of how much cheaper any retailer is than any other, we make no such claim, and we compare no retailer against a competitor. The ratios between membership fees, operating income, and net income are arithmetic on figures the company reported in one filing, and they are comparisons rather than a statement that most profit comes from fees, which the filing does not break out. The quarter's net income included a non-recurring benefit, so these ratios are not a run rate. The article makes no prediction about membership growth, renewal rates, or company results, and the figures cover the 16 weeks and fiscal year stated in the release, which are not calendar periods.

Sources

Found this useful?

Education only. Nothing here is investment, tax, or legal advice.